2019 Holiday schedule for Tomb of Machpela

The Hall of Isaac including the entrance to the Garden of Eden is open for Jews 10 times a year.

The Tomb of Machpela is the 2,000-year-old structure that covers the underground cave of the Patriarchs and Matriarchs.  It contains both a synagogue area and a mosque area with each side being managed separately with separate entrances.

For ten days a year, the Muslim area of the Tomb of the Patriarchs is open for Jewish prayer services and for another ten days, the Jewish area is open for Muslim prayer services. This gives each side free access to otherwise off-limits sections, although certain sections are off limits even during these special days.

During normal days, the complex is divided into Jewish and Muslim areas with the Hall of Isaac and Rebecca reserved for Muslim prayers. This hall contains the small opening into the underground caves, known as the “entrance to the Garden of Eden.”

The Cave of Machpelah is open:

Winter Time – 4:00am – 9:00pm
Summer Time – 4:00am – 10:00pm
The outside courtyard and Seventh Step garden area is always open.
The Cave of Machpelah will be reserved for special Jewish prayer services, including the Hall of Isaac and Rebecca on the following days:
Monday, April 22, 2019 – Passover
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 – Passover
Thursday, August 29, 2019 – Rosh Hodesh Elul (Early)
Monday, September 30, 2019 – Rosh Hashana
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 – Rosh Hashana
Sunday, October 6, 2019 – Ten Days of Repentance
Tuesday October 9, 2019 – Yom Kippur
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 – Succot
Thursday, October 17, 2019 – Succot
Saturday November 23, 2019 – Shabbat Chayei Sarah
On the following days the Tomb complex will be reserved for Muslim prayers, including those areas normally used for Jewish prayer services. All Jewish services will take place outside at the Seventh Step garden.
Wednesday April 3, 2019 – Laylat al-Mi’raj
Friday, May 10, 2019 – Ramadan
Friday, May 17, 2019 – Ramadan
Friday, May 24, 2019 – Ramadan
Sunday May 26, 2019 – Ramadan
Friday, May 31, 1919 – Ramadan
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 – Eid al-Fitr
Sunday, August 11, 2019 – Eid al-Adha
Sunday, September 1, 2019 – Islamic New Year
Sunday, November 10, 1919 – Mawlid an-Nabī
Please note that there may be changes in opening and closing times. It is recommended that you double-check by calling 050-647-7776 or 050-647-7744.
For any additional inquiry and for coordinating events and celebrations, the Cave of the Patriarchs staff is at your service.
(article originally seen here)
[forminator_form id="10373"]